IFA Centre IFA
Choweree House, 21 Boutport Street, Barnstaple, Devon EX31 1RP | (Tel) 01271 344300 | info@miltonpj.net
Have a look at a selection of things that our clients have been saying about us.


‘My parents had used Philip J Milton & Co for their investments for many years and had always been very happy. In recent years when my mothers health deteriorated and so need nursing care, Scott helped me, as her Attorney, with ensuring this could be funded. So when my mother passed away in 2014 and I needed advice with dealing with her estate and investing my inheritance I was very comfortable seeking Scott's advice. Scott was available with help and advice initially with the winding up of my late mothers estate and my late fathers Trust fund but helped me to understand the impact my anticipated inheritance would have on my own future investment planning. Scott also helped me to review my immediate and future financial needs.. Its early days as my late mothers estate has only recently been finalized but I have followed most of the advice given to me by Scott regarding investing my inheritance and have made some changes to my existing investments so I will be watching how they perform with interest.’ - November 2015
RE Will Service – ‘It was good not to feel pressurised and to be listened to.’ - August 2015
RE Will Service – ‘I cannot think of any areas where the level of service could have been improved!’ - April 2015
Mark Millichope fully understands our attitude towards investments, and shapes his advice accordingly. He is extremely thorough and always ensures that we understand the advice given, and never tries to 'sell' any unnecessary products.
- February 2015

Scott and his team replied promptly to our questions, and gave us options to consider. We felt he understood our situation and what we needed very well and so the advice we received worked well for us. The implications of any decision we made were spelled out so we were aware of both risks and benefits. Scott's advice was impartial and balanced always. - February 2015

I have always found that the company has had it's fingers well and truly on the pulse with regard to my (and my late wife's finances), and their advice, even going back to original BT shares and annuity based mortgages, has been timely and beneficial! Since my retirement, they have maintained the level of my investments to more than adequately service my requirements without derogating from my net worth. - February 2015

Philip is evidently passionate about his work and has a total grasp of his subject. He will never let you down. He is eager to stress the benefits of investment, frequently at the risk of an emphasis of the obvious. He is the evident leader of the business. He regularly issues clients with his observations on the market and current trends and is never deterred from making his views clear.

What could your adviser do better?

It may be a matter of personal style but Philip sometimes has a tendency to prolixity in his writings. He repeats his dismay and disregard of real property investment and has been known to berate professionals in other related disciplines, but with a perfectly proper emphasis on quality of service and value for money. That is testament to his own ideals for the business. - February 2015

Our investments have been managed by Philip Milton for about 10 years now. We have always found his advice to be excellent and balanced. We really feel we can trust that he has our best interests at heart and is not pushing things that would not be right for us. We have been pleased with the performance of these investments. We are also pleased with the service we receive when we need advice on releasing some of our capital.
- February 2015

Mark listens to what you have to say , acts on the agreed plan and delivers the result promised. - February 2015

I have always had good friendly service, and good communication - February 2015

Philip Milton cares for his customers and nothing is too much trouble he...

- Explains the details
- Ensures the risks are highlighted
- Guides you to the right products without at all being pushy

February 2015

Simon has a positive but very friendly approach. My move away from Devon has had no effect the quality of his care/service. Simon makes himself available promptly via email or he has phoned me as required. Simon was very through in his research in my initial financial situation and he listened carefully to my objectives. Simon gives me the space to consider his suggestions before I had to come to my initial decisions. Simon has done a yearly review ( more often if required) as that I can maximise my investment potential. I trust Simon with my investments. - February 2015

Clear and concise explanation and consequences of the different options open to me inc the different costs. Dealt with my queries and questions immediately in a most professional manner. - February 2015

I have lived outside of the UK for many years and when I needed help with family financial planning Scott was recommended to me. This is many years ago and I have been working with Scott ever since on trust and will issues and general financial planning. I am not familiar with UK rules and taxes and Scott has been absolutely fabulous in helping me navigate through this confusing world and has been excellent in responding to my never ending questions about how to handle my financial obligations. - February 2015

Under Philip Milton's steerage we've watched his team grow in confidence, performance and ability. We came to him originally to untangle a mass of inefficient and expensive funds and policies amassed over decades, and his guidance and advice in tandem with that of his team achieved for us the simplified, well strategised portfolio of managed funds and pensions that we currently enjoy the benefits of. We recommend Philip and his matchless team very highly. - February 2015

I have been a client of Philip J. Milton & Co. since about 1992 and over the years they have been able to advise and adapt with my changing circumstances. I initially had a modest portfolio and P.E.P. with them but then transferred my pension into their care. Over a period of time I transferred virtually all of my investments into their care and have total confidence in them. - February 2015

Gave very clear and concise advice and recommendation based on our personal requirements and goals. Well balanced proposals for maximum long term annuity income, together with considered and well informed advice as to cash investments via Market Share ISA's and Cash ISA's. We greatly appreciated his ability to explain things in simple terms clearly. Always thorough and deals with queries promptly. - February 2015

Our adviser is approachable and works thoroughly to adapt our personal circumstances to our financial needs. - February 2015

Mark is very friendly and knowledgeable. He listens to my concerns and future objectives taking full account of my attitude to risk. He never tries to sell any product to me; he just informs me of my options and allows me to make decisions. Mark is also prepared to listen to any queries I have outside of his remit and is happy to put me in touch with the relevant person/department. - February 2015

We asked Mark Millichope of Philip Milton & Co to simplify and rationalise a complex package we’d had for decades with Zurich, of disparate, overblown, high-commission, high-maintenance funds and policies.

He and the team patiently and successfully developed a new and comprehensive reinvestment strategy for us in terms of both managed funds and pensions, and have brought us to the state of reassured comfort we enjoy today. Their superb team is accessible and alarmingly patient, and for the most part faultless. Problems we might have encountered have been dealt with immediately and with honesty, even if some of them might have been caused by our own failings rather than theirs. As a consequence we now have PJM&Co looking after all aspects of our financial and administrative affairs. I trust absolutely their ability in grasping our needs through changing circumstances, and amending and advising as appropriate and where needed.

It’s a word little used in the financial sector these days, sadly, but I’d employ the term ‘integrity’ to compliment them. Highly recommended. - February 2015

Mark, who works for the Philip J. Milton Company in Barnstaple, North Devon, is a member of a superb organisation. When I lost my husband I felt very vulnerable, and quite at a loss as to how to manage my finances. I understood very little about wise investment. Mark offered clear, sane advice which I am so glad I took! I have had a regular, extremely generous income (4% net plus) for the last ten years and my capital has grown too. I receive regular updates, and any questions are answered promptly, courteously and efficiently. What is most important for me is that Mark and the company he works for are people of integrity. I feel looked after - so important these days when one is alone and a pensioner. Even during the horrendous years of the 2008/9 crisis, I felt I was in good hands. I was – and, unlike so many unfortunate people, I came out of that financial debacle completely unscathed - thanks to Mark. - February 2015

Mark has an engaging personality and gives the feeling of professionalism when discussing your personal financial matters. I believe that I have been given excellent advice. - February 2015

We have worked with Scott for 10 years. He has diligently advised and supported us through Wills and Trusts, Inheritance Tax Planning, Investment Planning, & Probate. The results of which have yielded hugely positive benefits in all aspects. Scott listens, interprets our needs, communicates clearly, advises and patiently explains potential solutions and strategy. His technical knowledge is considerable from which he instals total confidence. Finally he carries advice through to implementation with a full action & documentation service. - February 2015

I have had the pleasure of received financial advice in a number ways from Mark over the years. He has always conducted himself as a professional and well informed individual on a array of subjects. Mark has given me personal advice on tax free products a portfolio of stocks and pension advice. Just of late I needed to withdraw a large percentage of my funds to finance a property purchase. I am pleased to say he was just as helpful in the withdrawing of the funds as he was when I was introduced to the firm. - February 2015

Mark has always responded clearly and quickly to any queries. We go over my financial situation at least once a year to make sure everything is in place. He explains anything I don't understand and listens to my point of view. It is always a pleasure to see him and I have no reservations about him whatsoever. In fact I have recommended him to several people. - February 2015

Simon always offers unbiased and appropriate advice, and is exceptional in the way that he explains the reasons for the advice he is giving. He is always highly professional, yet friendly and pleasant. - February 2015

The fact that we have been clients for just under twenty years indicates that overall we have been very happy with the service and advice.We were unable to rate quality of service according to the criteria listed because we do not have on-line access to our portfolios.One star was entered because the system won't take an omission. - February 2015
Thoroughly efficient. - February 2015

Philip has helped me arrange my pension pot for many years and has always given me the best advice available at the time. He is easy to contact and friendly to deal with. He is honest, straight forward, precise, knowledgeable and direct. - February 2015

Helps to understand the current position and plan for future needs - February 2015

I have been an overseas client of Philip's virtually since his inception of business and I have absolute trust in his advice. He is most approachable and patient and willing to explain anything I don't fully understand. He and his staff are professional and experienced. Any queries I have are always responded to in a helpful manner and within a reasonable length of time.
My personal situation was evaluated and acted upon when I initially became a client of Philip's and has been regularly reviewed and re-evaluated as my circumstances have changed due to different locations and from being an employed person to a retired one. His sound financial advice has certainly helped me to live fairly comfortably on my pension plus investment income. - February 2015

Scott is assiduous with planning and marrying requirements with appropriate plans to meet these requirements. Scott makes time every year to review our financial position every year even though we live abroad. - February 2015

Mark always gives helpful, clear and professional advice whenever we meet and we never feel rushed.

My wife and I feel very confident to have our finances in his hands. We think of him not just as our financial adviser, but also as a friend whom we trust to give advise based on what is in our best interests. - February 2015

I have been lucky enough to deal with Mark (via PJ Milton Ltd in Barnstaple) for around 10-15 years now. There are a number of reasons why I continue to use both Mark and the company. The first area is that they respond almost instantly to written,phone or e mail requests - I have never had to wait more that 24 hours for some form of response. All the advice given has been couched in straightforward easy to understand language, you do not need to be a financial expert to understand the responses given. Mark clearly has an excellent grasp of all the areas of Financial Planning I rely on him for. I never feel I am being sold anything - the advice is totally impartial , in fact their honesty has probably cost them business as Mark has looked at my circumstances and told me not to change certain aspects of my situation. There is a clarity around the costs as well, before you sign up for any advice or guidance you know what the likely charges will be and so far I have received no surprises.

As regards service Mark will e mail me occasionally asking if any circumstances have changed and whether I require any further help on any matters. All in all I am delighted with all aspects of the advice and service I receive - in fact as a result we had our will planning done with the same company and my Grandsons are saving with Mark as well. - February 2015

I have dealt with Simon Valentine-Marsh and the company for over 12 years, and the company for over 24, years and have at all times been successfully guided by there advise.

Personally there have moments of problems when some stock or other crashed out, but from a technical perspective, over time, they, Simon and his associated professionals have always delivered on their advice. They have always been contactable at all times, giving reassurance to a now elderly investor. The yearly financial reviews are a key part of their planning advise and something which I find especially helpful. The ability of the company to handle all aspects of financial planning, savings, pensions, wills and matters of probate, and my other personal monitory matters make the company to me a One stop shop.

I have introduced two other members of my family to the company, with differing financial situations, who have both reported total satisfaction in the professional and moral integrity of Simon and his other departmental colleagues. Finally I feel both comfortable and at ease discussing all aspects of my finances and family matters with him and this company.

I would advise anyone who is looking for a long-term financial adviser to look no further than Simon at PJ Milton and Co PLC. - February 2015

Phillip gives a fair assessment of market forces that may affect the investment,he uses e mail to contact as well as half yearly reports for updating the investment progress,my wife and I have been with Philip and his team for many years , the charges/fees are reasonable we wil continue to invest with Phillip for the foreseeable future - February 2015

It never ceases to amaze me how Philip and the team continually keep 'one step ahead' of the market. Over the 16 years I have been advise by PJM I can have nothing but praise for their professionalism, their efficiency and the way they continue to deliver 'gold-edged' advice. I'd recommend PJM to anyone (and often do)! - February 2015

Simon listens to what I would like and then advises accordingly using his experience and knowledge - February 2015

Always happy to help. Nothing is too much trouble. If need be we can ring without notice and can speak to him or he soon rings us back if engaged.
Very reassuring and much appreciated. - February 2015

Simon always listens well then gives advice or may make a suggestion. He is very approachable and explains detail in clear and easy terms. No unnecessary jargon.
We are rest assured that Simon takes notice of our requirements and we trust him implicitly to care of them. - February 2015

Mark is a very thorough, personable and knowledgable advisor who has helped us structure our investments and pension planning. He quickly grasped our needs and came Back with suitable options for us to consider. We have been very pleased with the service received
and Would recommend his services. - January 2015

Scott listens very accurately to our questions and answers carefully and with professional insight. He always responds verbally to every point and follows that with a precisely worded summary letter. He is always patient in responding to extraneous questions. He deals quickly and efficiently with general investment business and sensitively and creatively with estate resolution. We are very confident in his judgement and his financial and legal knowledge. - January 2015

Excellent service. Extremely professional and knowledgeable. Has managed assets for my parents for many years and I'm very happy to continue the tradition. Takes a genuinely whole picture view and has provided valuable novel proposals which have provided a higher long term net return than would otherwise have been available. Very trustworthy, and also patient. Genuine traditional high quality service (not the excessive marketing / high pressure / sales-oriented culture which has become the plague of several other advisors / financial companies I've occasionally tried for ad-hoc investments). Highly recommended. - January 2015

Always provides a detailed letter recording each meeting held. It is difficult to pick any specific advice, but it has been particularly helpful with regards to pension, will and inheritance tax planning. - January 2015

Very approachable and always willing to meet and discuss any issues I have. Explains quite complex issues in a simple way foe me !!! - January 2015

I think probably the most important feature of Phillip and his firm, apart from the obvious investment success over the years from which I have benefitted enormously, is the personal attention to my financial affairs. The advice I have been given has always been based on my personal requirements and I have never been subjected to a sales pitch which all to often is the routine of other so called financial advisors.

I also consider,again through my experience over the years, that their integrity is totally beyond question and would not hesitate to recommend them in all their areas of business.

I am happy to say that whether I contact Phillip or his firm personally or by phone I am always greeted with the sort of cheeriness and helpfulness that you wish larger national organisations would adopt.

In all I have doubt that not only has Phillip and his firm proved itself to be reliable and very successful through good and bad financial times, but should be held up as a model and standard to which other firms should aspire. - January 2015

Simon is very approachable and takes time to listen carefully before offering any advice . He reviewed mine and my wife's various pension plans prior to our retirement and provided a detailed written report of the actions he advised us to take together with explanations. We found his advise invaluable in achieving the best income from these plans. Simon has also provided advise on ISA investments and was helpful when I had problems with a previous IFA. He reviewed my papers and advised me to report them to the Financial Ombudsman Service where my case was upheld and compensation eventually received after a long legal battle. Although Simon was not involved in the case, other than to provide calculations relating to the loss, he provided a sympathetic ear frequently during the process. If Simon does not know the answer to a problem, he always reports back with an answer when he has checked it out, I trust Simon and have confidence in his advice. - Janaury 2015

Very user friendly , very accessible and very patient responding to numerous queries. Careful consideration is given to ascertaining what one's precise needs are with annual reviews and personal consultation. Intermittent advice and guidance is made available via periodic newsletters reflecting on current trends, backed by an annual conference with specialist input. - Janaury 2015

A few years ago, when the last tranche of a company I and my former partners owned was sold, I asked 2 financial advisers, both London based, if I had any capital losses that I could set against the capital gains I had made. Neither was able to suggest anything. I happened to mention it in passing to Mr Milton, and he came up with an investment which allowed me to defer those capital gains, which had inheritance tax advantages and which saved me considerable sums in income tax. Since then, I have entrusted his firm with further investments and tax planning. I suspect that, had I done so 40 years ago, I would be substantially wealthier.- January 2015

My advisor, Scott, always considers the whole person situation when giving advice and I feel confident when conversing with him that my business and investments are in good and safe hands. He is very thorough, with prompt follow up letters, as and when, necessary. He understands my attitude to risk well, and what I want to achieve i.e. for a pensioner, a good standard of living followed by an inheritance for my family. - January 2015

Very polite and patient - Janaury 2015
Mark is excellent in talking us through different options in laymans terms! He is always happy to talk to us if we have any concerns even when we are out of the country. His advice is always valued. - December 2014

Simon has been our financial adviser for more than 5 years and during that time has helped us immensely. He gives us complete information on all aspects of our finances and all options which are available to us. He has always been available should we need to contact him or returned our calls in a timely fashion. Our pensions and taxes were a nightmare until Simon came along. We recommend him wholeheartedly. - December 2014

The adviser provided extremely clear and concise information in a very timely and professional manner. - December 2014

Simon's communications with me regarding my pensions and financial advice was explained to me in a way which was easily understood. Simon's understanding of my of my situation was diagnosed and accurate and again explained to me which put my mind at ease regarding my financial future. At present I feel Simon is a first class financial advisor who I would recommend to anybody. - December 2014

Scott listens thinks and advises, not something his peers do. Although I do not carry out all his advice, he continues to support us at all time, through his advice I am able to retire early, a positive result. - December 2014

Happy and able to simplify financial jargon. Listens to individual needs and requirements. Very prompt communication. Still assumes I have more financial savvy than I really do, although is able to come down to my level! - December 2014

Responsive, understood aims and goals that we were trying to achieve. Flexible and adaptable as circumstances changed a lot in short period of time. - December 2014

Very approachable & has a first class understanding of our needs and requirements. Offers excellent advice and recommendations and is never rushed in our meetings and discussions. Always follows up with a detailed letter confirming the points discussed. Readily available for additional advice via e-mail if required. - December 2014

Simon has been our advisor for several years and in that time we have had an annual meeting to discuss my pension fund and a variety of associated topics. We have also been in regular contact by email when necessary. In all the years we have known him we have completely trusted his opinions and believed that his advice was for our benefit to maximise our pension plans. He has seen us through a critical period of our lives, retiring from full time work and moving into a period of reliance on our savings and pension pot. He has shown sympathy and understanding, humour and diligence. Like most financial advisers Simon lives in a different world from ours, dealing with funds, taxes, pensions, annuities etc. He could try and explain in more simple terms what he is saying as we sometimes leave his office not completely sure if we understand something he has told us. I usually write after our visit and ask and he always explains. - December 2014

The service is very personal to me and I value the one to one advice. I have found them to be extremely professional over the 'many' years I have dealt with them. - December 2014

Simon always responds quickly, particularly when something is evidently urgent and in a comprehensive and understandable manner. He adheres to timetables and offers initiatives before being prompted. He achieves the agreed objectives without undue fuss. He is extremely approachable (and will accept being teased from time to time). In Simon's case, very little, now that we communicate in the first instance by e-mail. - December 2014

Really enjoy the news updates – thanks for your efforts and financial support – as ever. - January 2014

Your service is of a very high order regarding the preparation of our Wills. - December 2013

May I just say the staff were extremely pleasant, welcoming and very helpful with guardianship matter – please pass on my thanks and appreciation. - November 2013

You have acted entirely professionally in all your dealings with me. I am extremely pleased and grateful for the income that's been generated from the investment of my aunts money. - November 2013

We would like to offer you our sincere and grateful thanks for your kind and efficient service in dealing with our request to withdraw funds from our investments. - September 2013

Now that our financial arrangements are finalised, I would like to thank you and your team, especially Simon Valentine-Marsh for the help and advice my wife and I have experienced. The timing of conversion to cash of both our Pension Fund and ISA’s enabled us to clear mortgages and invest in an annuity in very “tricky times”. Many thanks.” - July 2013

We have always received excellent and prompt service in all our dealings with Mark and your Company throughout the past few years. Thank you - June 2013

I regret the delay in acknowledging receipt of my recent Year End Report. I am so pleased that Milton & Co. continue to deal with my investments, etc. with good results in these volatile & difficult times. It is a great relief to me as, dare I admit it, my knowledge of financial matters is indeed minimal! Very many thanks to your staff members for the work achieved on my behalf. I have every confidence in their expertise and attention for a long standing client. In July 2012

Can we say once again what a pleasure it has been to deal with you and your company and that we do recommend you to our friends as being the best value for money we have spent with regards to sorting out of finances. - April 2012

Overall, I have been very impressed with the service I've received from PJM and would definitely consider using again for any changes to my Will and for Probate services as well - April 2012

A huge thank you to the team @philipmilton for invaluable financial advice. #recommend - April 2012

“My thanks to you and your colleagues for the professional way that you have dealt with this. It is not something we see here in the SE and London, it must be a Devon thing.” - March 2012

With many thanks for your continued excellent advice in troubled times. I never panic - I know I am in good hands! - December 2011

“Many thanks to both of you for all your assistance given to someone who does not have a clue about finance!” - September 2011

“Overall the service you gave was excellent” - July 2011

“Thank you for all your friendly assistance and sound advice. It’s comforting to know that you are there at the end of the phone, if you know what I mean. I don’t know where we would be without all your help.” - August 2011

“I remain very impressed by my dealings with you and your Company, my husband and I had advice on our mortgage way back and all the advice received by myself since then has been extremely helpful; again it being made very clear when costs might be involved” - May 2011

“It is a pleasure to see that despite difficult trading conditions our investments continue to improve in value, thanks to the acumen of the management team.” - March 2011.

The Financial Conduct Authority does not regulate some areas mentioned on our web site including: Buy to Let Mortgages, Claims Management Activity, Taxation & Accountancy, Probate Administration and Will Writing.

Financial services complaints we cannot settle may be referred to the Financial Ombudsman Service; www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk 0800 023 4 567. Details of our complaints procedure are available via the documents tab above.

Risk Warning - Stockmarket investments can offer income through the payment of dividends and interest and good opportunities for capital appreciation over the longer term. By this, generally we mean periods in excess of five years, preferably much longer. However, we can never promise you particular returns, especially in the short-term. At any point in time but especially in the short term, your capital could be worth less than the original amount invested as some of the selected holdings may fall in value, regardless of expectations at the time of acquisition. We may also invest in funds that hold overseas securities. The value of these investments may increase or decrease as a result of changes in currency exchange rates. Returns achieved in the past cannot be relied upon to be repeated.

Philip J Milton & Company Plc is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.
Philip J Milton & Company Plc is entered on the FCA register (http://www.fca.org.uk/register) under reference: 181768.
# Registered Office: Choweree House, 21 Boutport Street, Barnstaple, Devon EX31 1RP
Registered and Incorporated in England number 3233275 | VAT number 682 2544 28
A list of the Directors is available from the registered office

 

Copyright © Philip J Milton & Company Plc - 2016